My Favorite Pancakes

Growing up, pancakes were one of my favorite breakfasts. My mom would make them as a special Saturday morning treat, filled with chocolate chips and topped with Stonewall Kitchen’s now-retired Strawberry Piggy Sauce. Pancakes at Sarabeth’s in Manhattan or my favorite diner in Connecticut were my birthday brunch treat, and my first year in college, the meal I ate before I went off to the airport for school each term to say goodbye to the US for a few months. (The UK one-ups the US by having a Pancake Day, but their pancakes are actually more like what we consider crepes). I’d have them topped with strawberries and bananas and drizzled with maple syrup, because I liked blueberries and chocolate chips, but why change a good thing?

When my wheat allergy was diagnosed, I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy pancakes in the same way ever again. Part of why I liked pancakes was the way they conjured up happy memories of childhood meals, before any of my struggles with food began, and the special feeling of having a treat on an ordinary morning I got whenever a plate was set before me. It wasn’t that I thought gluten-free pancake mix would taste bad. I just thought the pancakes would taste different. Which is true, of course. But that meant I didn’t really eat pancakes for a few years, until I started learning to cook for myself and coming up with new recipes. Pancake perfection was a distant dream, but I began to try anyway. Remember that saying, shoot for the moon, and if you miss, you’ll land among the stars? Well, I’ve taken that to heart, because the pancakes I’ve arrived at might not be perfect, but they sure do make me feel all warm and fuzzy the way I feel pancakes should. They’re sweet, fluffy, and gluten-free, and more than good enough for me!

 

Slide1

 

Ingredients:

1/3 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour

1/4 cup gluten-free quick-cooking oats

Even I can flip these pancakes...

Even I can flip these pancakes…

1/4 cup Greek yogurt

1/2 cup milk of choice

3 Tbsp egg whites

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

Maple syrup for topping

Olive oil, butter, or cooking spray for pan

 

 

Instructions:

1. In a small bowl, combine all dry ingredients, then mix in wet ingredients.

2. Bring a nonstick pan to medium heat on the stove and grease well.

3. Pour 2 heaping spoonfuls of batter into pan for a pancake 4-5″ across. Feel free to make the pancakes larger, I just prefer to keep them spatula-size because I’m not the best flipper!

4. Let cook until edges begin to bubble, then use a spatula to carefully flip the pancake. Let cook on second side for about a minute more, then transfer to plate.

5. Re-grease pan if necessary, and repeat with the rest of the batter. This will yield 5-6 pancakes of the size pictured.

6. Top with extra yogurt, maple syrup, and cinnamon, or any other toppings of choice. Enjoy!

 

Short stack ready for a close-up

Short stack ready for a close-up…with your tummy

 

Pin-worthy pancakes

Pin-worthy pancakes

What are your favorite kind of pancakes? Did you have a special childhood breakfast that you always had for celebrations and good luck?

 

 

 

 

© 2015 Renaissance Runner Girl. All rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Pancakes

  1. Hmm, trying to think of a way I could turn this vegan without making it not gluggy. Would love to still try this recipe, looks so yummy!

    Like

  2. How good that you’ve been able to make a pancake recipe that you can still enjoy! I’m the same as you and grew up eating pancakes on the weekends. So good! Thanks for joining our Fabulous Foodie Fridays party! xx

    Like

Leave a comment