January Highlights

We’ve reached the last day of the first month of 2016. I feel like I was just getting ready for the new year and reflecting on 2015, this month flew by so fast. That’s why I want to focus on making the most of the present instead of worrying about the future this year – it goes by in the blink of an eye, and I don’t want to miss a moment! Since this blog serves as a sort of adventure log for me as well as being a place to collecting running and recipe tips, I’ll be recapping each month like I did for several months of last year (April, May, June, and July) and then lost track of doing with all my traveling. I’m settled into the swing of my new routine now, I’ve learned a lot from blogging having reached the one-year mark, and today is all about my January highlights!

 

 

On January 1st, I woke up at my house in Connecticut and went for a lovely winter morning’s run, to kick off a first weekend of 2016 of running, brunching, and other typical activities for me in New York City.

 

 

Central Park gazebo

Sarabeth's cheddar and vegetable garden omelet

 

 

 

I laid out my running goals for 2016, specifically my plans to run my first marathon in New York City this November, to finish several half marathons along the way, and to get a little more speedwork, strength training, and yoga in there.

 

 

 

Hollywood Studios

With my parents at the Disney World Half Marathon

 

 

 

As you know from the onslaught of colorful photos, I traveled to Orlando with my family to run the Walt Disney World Half Marathon for the second year in a row. This time around, we did the 10K as a family as well. After this, I shared some tips on gluten free fueling for a Disney race, and thoughts on running a half marathon in Florida versus at Disneyland in California.

 

 

At Disney's Boardwalk

Cinderella Castle

 

 

 

It was back to reality after that. But reality is a little different now than it was a year ago, or even six months ago. The day after returning from my trip, I was sworn in as a lawyer and officially admitted to the New York State Bar. I went back to work at my full time lawyer job, shaping my running routine around that, spending time with my friends, family, and boyfriend, volunteering with the Junior League, and all the other things that play a role in my life.

 

 

 

Central Park winter sunrise

MoMA Picasso Exhibit

 

 

 

I embarked on a two to three week elimination eating plan, to try and get to the root of some health issues I’ve experienced over the past several months. No grains, dairy, or soy (in addition to the usual lack of gluten, tree nuts, avocados, and oranges), as seen in my last WIAW.

 

 

 

Whole30 grocery haul

 

 

 

We had a blizzard. Winter Storm Jonas came to New York City (and most of the rest of the eastern seaboard), putting the city in snowbound mode for a weekend, and letting us have lots of fun making snow angels on Park Avenue and climbing to the top of Belvedere Castle in Central Park to take in the view of a very un-metropolis-like winter wonderland. And trek to brunch, because even a blizzard can’t stop brunch.

 

 

 

Brett and I in the snow

Pascalou brunch eggs and smoked salmon

 

 

 

I got the chance to share some tips for staying safe on a snowy run, and to see Central Park on the morning after a blizzard, the path fairly well plowed and thousands of New Yorkers out to play. And line up to push their kids down the hills on sleds. Sometimes you remember why it’s nice to live in a little lower density…but then you look around, and it’s just so gorgeous you don’t mind.

 

 

Running after Winter Storm Jonas

Snowy path at Carl Schurz Park

 

 

 

And now, it’s on to February! The shortest month even in a leap year like this one, and somehow already full of plans for me. I’m hosting my second dinner party next Saturday after having fun with last year’s inaugural, the Super Bowl is Sunday, it’s a long weekend after that and I’m headed back to Florida at the end of the month. I’m trying to increase the miles around all of this and keep coming up with delicious new recipes, something that’s fallen by the wayside a little. Wish me luck 🙂

 

 

 

 

Highlights of your January?

 

Any resolutions you’ve kept, foregone, or adjusted?

 

What are you looking forward to in February?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2016 Renaissance Runner Girl. All rights reserved.

11 thoughts on “January Highlights

  1. Sounds like a great month! I have “Disney Races” as a running bucket list item, someday I will be able to say, “I ran Disney!” That winter storm really put everyone out of sorts…we had a little snow, but nothing compared to Jonas (and ours was melted by Thursday/Friday due to the several 50 degree days last week). Have a great week and start to Feburary!

    Like

  2. I resolved to keep my apartment cleaner. And I’ve done…decently. Good thing I chose the word “clean-er” and not simply “clean.” : S Congrats on being admitted to the New York State Bar! That represents a ton of work!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Workouts and Updates 1/24-1/31 | Renaissance Runner Girl

  4. Seriously, it feels like this year has been flying by, and so many things have happened already! I’m excited for the things coming up this year–still trying to keep up with my goals, slowly but surely!

    Like

  5. I can’t believe that January is already over – weren’t we just making resolutions?! I’ve been sticking to mine pretty well, but that’s because I chose words to live by instead of making specific goals. And I think I’d have to say that the best part of January for me was celebrating my birthday in the mountains with good friends.

    Like

  6. Pingback: February Recap | Renaissance Runner Girl

  7. Pingback: June Monthly Recap | Renaissance Runner Girl

Leave a comment