WIAW #4: From PB&J to Gourmet

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

 

Welcome to this week’s What I Ate Wednesday, hosted by Jenn at Peas and Crayons. This post features Monday’s eats. I think my PB&J cravings and insatiable appetite that day were the result of doing my first long run on Sunday since the NYC Half (I jogged to the start of the 10k, making it 8 miles and change). I’m always extra-hungry for a few days after one of those. In fact, after this morning’s November Project PR Day, I’m not sure my tummy is going to STOP growling! The sunrise was a beautiful way to usher in April…but now I need to make some breakfast to start my monthly eats off right. So without further ado…

Breakfast: I was really craving PB&J Monday morning. Before my run, I had a salted rice cake with a smear of Peanut Butter & Co Smooth Operator and some blueberry jam, topped with fresh blueberries. I did 5 miles in the sunshine in the park, just a nice and easy pace, and felt fabulous. Both my food and fitness for the wee hours seemed to be exactly what I needed. Then, when I got home, I mixed up a PB&J Oatmeal Cake and put it in the oven to bake while I showered and readied myself for the day. My stomach was already rumbling, so I had a peach Greek yogurt to tide me over. The oven timer couldn’t chime a moment too soon! I enjoyed my oatmeal cake with some more fresh blueberries and a crisp Pink Lady apple, and a mug of Green Mountain Wild Blueberry coffee. Scrump-diddly-umptious!

IMG_0724

IMG_0727

IMG_0729

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lunch: An assortment of snacks to get me through a long afternoon of class and internship. As regular readers know, I tend to eat a lot of little things strung together during the day, bookended by a big breakfast and dinner, because I’m often on the go and dislike feeling weighed down (as I snack, my backpack gets lighter!) OR hungry (because for me, hungry = hangry). This day featured a salad of greens, cabbage, and carrots, with smoked sockeye salmon and feta cheese, topped with Annie’s honey mustard vinaigrette as my ‘lunch’ entree. I ate this with a side of baby carrots around 12:30. I ate the muffin around 2pm before leaving school for Lincoln Center, and had the apple and pretzels around 4pm while at my internship. Then I had a pre-dinner snack when I got home around 6pm and had to wait a bit for dinner as I was going out to eat with a friend. To tide me over for the hour, I had the yogurt – banana cream, with some kettle corn and blueberries crumbled in. 

 

IMG_0648

My pack of snacks for the day

 

 

 

 

Kale salad

Kale salad

 

Dinner: In a word, delicious. For my appetizer, I had a salad of sauteed kale with Pecorino Romano cheese, red currants, and toasted sunflower seeds, with a simple oil and vinegar dressing. That plate was satisfying in and of itself, considering I polished off about four cups full!

 

 

 

 

Tilefish and taters

Tilefish and taters

 

My main course was a pan-seared tilefish with roasted red potatoes and braised onions. I’ve only tried tilefish a few times, but it’s been good in each rendition – it’s a firm white fish, sort of like halibut or cod. I’ve been trying to pay more attention to the sustainability of all the seafood I eat (since I eat a LOT), and it seems like more restaurants are trying to as well, at least according to the WSJ!

 

 

 

 

Strawberry and banana with rainbow sprinkles

Strawberry and banana with rainbow sprinkles

 

We were too stuffed for dessert, so we left the restaurant and wandered for awhile before dropping into a 16 Handles, which is my frozen dessert kryptonite. No matter how full I am, I can always make room for some frozen yogurt, especially since you can just sample a few flavors in a small cup as it’s self-serve. The cups are huge, which I suppose makes business sense (encouraging people to load up) but I usually end up with just 4-6 ounces and a charge of well under $3, which I love!

 

 

 

 

 

Bedtime snack

Bedtime snack

 

I couldn’t believe it, but I was actually sort of peckish later in the evening after I got home, so I ended the day with a Pink Lady apple and another muffin. What can I say…even after a gourmet dinner, I fall right back into my usual habits!

 

 

 

 

Are you ever surprised by feelings of hunger a few hours after a huge meal? Or a few days after a race or intense workout?

 

 

© 2015 Renaissance Runner Girl. All rights reserved.

13 thoughts on “WIAW #4: From PB&J to Gourmet

  1. Sometimes I will get hungry shortly after a huge meal, but usually when I eat something high in sugar. I’ll have something small to tame my appetite, because usually I’m not actually hungry! I get really hungry the day after a really hard workout, too.

    Like

    • I think every time I’ve gone, my friends’ bills have been at least double – I think it’s because I don’t load up on toppings like sauces and cookie dough (since I’m GF) that can make the weight skyrocket! I stick to yogurt and sprinkles 🙂

      Like

  2. Ohhh man I can relate to this, haha. We ate a huge dinner tonight and then somehow still made room for frozen yogurt 😉 We walked around a little in between so maybe that did the trick? Or maybe our stomachs have a secret compartment for fro yo??

    Like

Leave a comment